Faux, Quasi, Pseudo Cheesecake!

Mango Cream Cheese

Mango Cream Cheese

Strawberry Cream Cheese

Strawberry Cream Cheese

I remember back when I was in Hong Kong (around the new millennium), my mother would buy the Philadelphia (gosh it’s so hard to master the spelling!) Cream Cheese Strawberry Spread, and every time I went to her place I would liberally lather it on my toast and really, get ‘a little taste of heaven‘ (no I’m not their new promotion manager!). Of course, with the immigration to Australia, this is one of the foods I was forced to forever relinquish, hidden deep in the fathomless pits of my memory as a most luscious nosh. Or so I thought. Thankfully, Australians are starting to recognise the notion of ‘good taste‘, and around a year ago I was delighted to see this item stocked on the supermarket shelves. Nearly a decade behind HK’s discovery of this beauty (oh noes, I’m inadvertently developing an Australian vocabulary! 8O ). For those with less of a sweet tooth, they have savoury flavours too, but that’s like eating savoury cheesecake. (eew, I say!)

So yes, if you feel the craving to eat cheesecake for breakfast but not in the mood to start your day off guiltily, I suggest you go buy this now. Toast some bread to its most crunchy state possible. Then slather this sublime gloop on. Be generous now, it’s 80% less fat than butter! That’s better…

About Bonnie

I was born in Hong Kong, lived there until 11 years old, moved to Adelaide, then Wagga Wagga, and finally Brisbane. I am number four in the Enneagram and an INFP in the Myers-Briggs. I aspire to be a dietitian someday.

One response to “Faux, Quasi, Pseudo Cheesecake!

  1. meevi

    80% less fat than butter is stuff quite significant, since butter is pure fat, which means that it will probably be around 20% fat? Compared to the 99% fat-free foods that I eat, this is essentially like eating blubber. As for the savoury cheesecake part, firstly, I don’t think there is really anything wrong with that as for more ‘mature’ people, savoury is prefered over sweet (generally). Secondly, I wouldn’t compare the spread to a cheesecake. A cheesecake is a cake, which is pure heaven, while the spread is just some thing that you put on bread. These are only my opinion though, but to me, they are important enough.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Image on header courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Free photos for websites - FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Blog Stats

  • 39,164 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

